Return to What is the PTO?

PTO Committees: Who is in Charge of What?

The PTO sponsors many different committees, each of which would love to have your time and talents! These committees help raise funds for the school, engage in community building among our families and teachers, and  support the MIMS values. Of course, the benefits to you are many, including making great friends among the other parents and having fun while you support our students.

The PTO board convenes committees, confirms chairs, and provides budget and support as appropriate. If you do not see a direct email link for a committee chair, you can email the PTO Board at and ask to be put in touch. Please put the committee name or committee chair’s name in the subject line of your message.

Committee Chairs & Clubs (2019-2020)

The 20-21 committee chairs and clubs list is in process and will be available soon. If you are interested in being a committee chair or volunteer, please let us know via the form or send an email.

    • Shared Decision Making Committee (parent representatives are an elected position): Maggie Brown, Wendy Chung, Tanna Brown  –   SDMC deals with issues relating to policies, school curriculum, staffing patterns, school structure, & more. CLICK HERE for more detail.
    • Directory: Caroline Verot Moore
    • Fu Fri Yay (Welcoming/Hospitality/Coffee Talk): Beryl Poon Stoutenberg & Nissa Simpson
    • Birthday Marquee: Felicia Ziegler
    • Heritage Months: Lili Rueda & Natalie Garza (Hispanic Heritage); Amonee Haley, Courtnie Riley, Tierra Kirk (Black/African American History); TBD (Asian/Pacific American Heritage)
    • UIL: Nissa Simpson
    • Yearbook: Libby Ingrassia, Nissa Simpson, Beryl Poon Stoutenberg
    • Scholastic Book Fair: Sandra Lozano
    • School Supplies: Caroline Verot Moore and Beryl Poon Stoutenberg
    • Teacher Appreciation: Jocelyn Li
    • Travel Exploratory Committee: Courtnie Riley
    • Financial review committee: Paul Pinkston, Ann Huynh, Joyce Tang
    • PTO website: Meghan Spicer & Libby Ingrassia
    • PTO Online Store: Libby Ingrassia
    • Garden Club: Stephanie Lu
    • Buddy Program: Lisa Xie
    • Spirit Night: Nhi Le
    • Spirit Wear/Uniforms: Yumin Oh & Lily Hsu
    • Used Uniform Drive: Amonee Haley
    • Golden Dragon Dance Team: Frank Lin
    • Spark Park: Beth Jenkins

Festivals and Events

  • Mid-Autumn Festival: Amanda Chambers (Chair)
    • Mid Autumn Chang’e and Houyi folktale Skit Director: Robert O’Brian
    • Sociables Auction: Lisa Barrow
  • Boosterthon: Nhi Le
  • Chinese New Year Festival: Amanda Chambers(Chair),  (Logistics), Open (Decorations), Open (Entertainment), Open (Education & Crafts), Open (Marketplace Vendor Coordinator), Open (Hospitality Room), Open(Food Vendor Coordinator), Open(Games), Open(Signage), Open(Volunteer Coordinator)
  • International Festival: Amanda Chambers (Chair)
  • S.T.E.M. Night (Science Technology Engineering Math):

Class Parent Coordinators (school year 2019-2020)

  • Elementary Room Parent Coordinator – Beryl Poon Stoutenberg
  • ES Art – Joanna Smith
  • Pre-K – n/a
  • Kindergarten – Joanna Wei, Christy Lan, Amy Hun, Judy Chang
  • 1st Grade – Claire Ma, Christina Lin, Quyhn Vora, Angie Joe
  • 2nd Grade – n/a
  • SLL – Beth Wilson
  • 3rd Grade – Stephanie Lu, Kim Buchholtz, Sandra Lozano, Lucy Palma, Nancy Kwan
  • 4th Grade – Wendy Chung, Emily Talley, Ally Wang
  • 5th Grade – Amy Tang, Margaret Pinkston, Karen Chang, Joyce Tang, Angie Chen
  • 6th Grade – Eva Tittel, Stella Gideon
  • 7th Grade – Eda Morita, Caroline Moore
  • 8th Grade – Vicki Chu

Can’t find who you are looking for?  Try here for PTO board.  Try here for Shared Decision Making Committee (SDMC)

Want to volunteer? Complete the volunteer form, contact the PTO board, or speak to the committee chair(s) listed here.